We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

What has been done?

  • WWF has initiated the development of voluntary environmental certification of marine fisheries in Russia through the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) system. Today, at least 50% of white fish (cod, haddock and pollock) and 30% of sockeye salmon, the most valuable species of the Far Eastern salmons, are harvested in accordance with strict criteria of green audit.
  • Russia has adopted a law on the protection of seas from oil pollution, which takes into account most of the key provisions on which WWF insisted.
  • The Russian president signed a law banning Russian and foreign drift-net fishing in the Russian economic zone, which was consistently advocated by WWF. This prevents the annual death of about 200 thousand seabirds and 3 thousand mammals. The threat of overfishing of salmon on the migration routes has been reduced.
  • As a result of cooperation between WWF, fishermen and scientists in the Far Eastern region, the use of gear and methods of fishing has began, which significantly reduces the mortality of seabirds in longline fisheries. Due to WWF initiative, the longline fleet is equipped with streamer lines. This will reduce the seabirds’ mortality and increase the profitability of the fishery.
  • On WWF's initiative, the Longline Fisheries Association has adopted, for the first time in Russia, a document specifying the procedure for the observers’ work on its vessels. The community of cod and halibut fishermen will now collect information on the fishery and the reduction of its impact on seabird mortality. Also, at the suggestion of WWF, the Far Eastern State Technical Fisheries University (Vladivostok) and the Kamchatka State Technical University (Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky) introduced a professional program that teaches skills that are required for the observers in marine fisheries.
  • As a result of WWF initiative, a criminal liability has been introduced for the extraction and trade of valuable species of sturgeon (for example, beluga, kaluga and Sakhalin sturgeon). This is a necessary step to reduce poaching and prevent the disappearance of sturgeon; that was once a Russian pride.

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Что сделано?

  • WWF инициировал развитие в России добровольной экологической сертификации морского рыболовства по системе Морского попечительского совета (МSC). Сегодня не менее 50% белой рыбы (трески, пикши и минтая) и 30% нерки – самого ценного вида дальневосточного лосося – вылавливаются в соответствии со строгими критериями зеленого аудита.
  • В России принят закон о защите морей от нефтяного загрязнения, учитывающий большинство ключевых положений, на которых настаивал WWF.
  • Президент РФ подписал закон, запрещающий российский и иностранный дрифтерный промысел в экономической зоне России, против которого последовательно выступал WWF. Благодаря этому предотвращена ежегодная гибель около 200 тыс. морских птиц и 3 тыс. млекопитающих. Снижена угроза перелова лососей на путях миграций.
  • В результате сотрудничества WWF с рыбаками и учеными в Дальневосточном регионе начали использовать приспособления и методы лова, существенно снижающие смертность морских птиц на ярусном промысле. По инициативе WWF ярусный флот оборудуется стримерными линиями. Это снизит смертность морских птиц и повысит рентабельность промысла.
  • По инициативе WWF впервые в России Ассоциация ярусного промысла приняла документ, определяющий порядок работы наблюдателей на своих судах. Сообщество рыбаков, добывающих треску и палтус, теперь будет собирать информацию о промысле и снижении его воздействия на смертность морских птиц. Также, по предложению WWF, Дальневосточный государственный технический рыбохозяйственный университет (Владивосток) и Камчатский государственный технический университет (Петропавловск-Камчатский) ввели профессиональную программу, которая позволяет получить навыки наблюдателей на морских промыслах.
  • По инициативе WWF введена уголовная ответственность за добычу и торговлю ценными видами осетровых (например, белуги, калуги и сахалинского осетра). Это необходимый шаг для сокращения браконьерского промысла и предотвращения исчезновения осетровых, когда-то являвшихся гордостью России.