We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

Sturgeons and the causes of their extinction

Sturgeon fishes belong to the most ancient lineage of fish species. Sturgeons are found in the fossils since the Cretaceous period (85.8 - 70.6 million years ago). These unique fish, coevals of dinosaurs, have preserved to present day many features of the most ancient fish– cartilaginous skeleton and almost complete absence of scales, characteristic for most modern fish.

Sturgeons have a fairly long lifespan, comparable to the average life expectancy of a human. Adult individuals reach sexual maturity quite late. Reproductive capacity of sturgeon caviar is very low. In the past, in the absence of active commercial fishing sturgeon fish were quite common. This is supported by archaeological excavations. They inhibited almost all major European basins and even in the Moscow river basin. It is known for certain that in the VI century belugas up to 6 meters long and sturgeons up to 2 meters long were caught in the Moscow River.

The peak of the sturgeon fishery in the Caspian basin was at the time of river fishing from the 16th to the 10th century. At that time, catches of sturgeon reached 50 thousand tons. For many decades, sturgeon stocks in the Caspian Sea and their fisheries accounted for more than 90% of the world figures. Catches of sturgeon fish experienced significant fluctuations throughout the history of Caspian fisheries that depend on the level of reproduction and intensity of the fishery.

However, the high gastronomic qualities of sturgeon, the rapid development of hydropower, industrial and illegal fishing have led to the situation where by the end of the XX century sturgeons were qualified as endangered species. All countries of the Caspian basin agreed to ban commercial fishing of sturgeon since 2014 to stop their extinction.

It turns out that the black caviar, the price of which many people today consider too high, is actually priceless. Its price is the preservation of the species.

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Осетровые и причины их исчезновения

Осетровые рыбы принадлежат к числу наиболее древних видов рыб. В ископаемом состоянии осетровые известны с мелового периода (85,8 — 70,6 млн лет назад). До наших дней эти уникальные рыбы, современники динозавров сохранили многие черты самых древних рыб — хрящевой скелет и почти полное отсутствие характерной для большинства современных рыб чешуи.

Осетровые имеют довольно большую продолжительность жизни, сопоставимую со средней продолжительностью жизни человека. Половой зрелости взрослые особи достигают достаточно поздно. Репродуктивная способность икры осетровых рыб очень невелика. Когда-то давно, во времена отсутствия активного промыслового лова, осетровые рыбы были довольно распространенным видом. Об этом свидетельствуют археологические раскопки. Они обитали практически во всех крупных европейских водоемах и даже в бассейне реки Москва. Так, доподлинно известно, что в VI веке в реке Москва ловили белуг длиной до 6 метров и осетров длиной до 2 метров.

Расцвет промысла осетровых в Каспийском бассейне приходился на период речного рыболовства с ХVΙΙ по ХΙХ столетие. В это время уловы осетровых достигали 50 тыс. т. В течение многих десятилетий запасы осетровых в Каспийском море и их промысел составляли более 90% от мировых показателей. На протяжении всей истории каспийского рыболовства уловы осетровых рыб испытывали значительные колебания, в зависимости от уровня воспроизводства и интенсивности промысла.

Однако высокие вкусовые качества осетровых, бурное развитие гидроэнергетики, промышленного и нелегального промысла привели к тому, что уже к концу XX века осетровых рыб причислили к числу вымирающих видов. Все страны Каспийского бассейна договорились о прекращении с 2014 года промышленного промысла осетровых, чтобы остановить процесс их исчезновения.

Получается, что черная икра, стоимость которой многие люди сегодня считают слишком высокой, на самом деле просто бесценна. Ее цена — сохранение вида.