We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

What has already been done

  • Action taken by WWF and other organizations resulted in Russia’s ratification of the Kyoto Protocol (2005) and thus allowed it to enter into force for all countries; until recently it was the key mechanism for international climate cooperation.
  • WWF has accomplished a number of large forest/climate projects in the Russian Far East covering some 2 million hectares; this effort helped avoid carbon dioxide emissions to the atmosphere and develop a model for prospective nation-wide action. The Bikin river forests, as well as all cedar-broadleaf forests in Primorye, which are home to the Amur tiger, have been protected from logging; an emission reductions trading system was tested (the payments were received by the indigenous Udegei community ‘Tigr’).
  • In cooperation with the leading experts WWF facilitated Russia’s approval of an environmentally sound Climate Doctrine (2009) and Action Plan (2011) and a 2020 emission reduction target, as well as signing a new Paris climate agreement (2016).
  • In cooperation with the leading experts WWF facilitated decision-making about the development of a federal law and a ‘carbon’ regulation system (2016), i.e. measures to promote the deployment of new technologies and therefore emissions reduction.
  • The RF Ministry of natural resources developed and adopted a methodology to account for greenhouse gas absorption by forests and other terrestrial ecosystems (2017). For WWF, it is important that the methodology ensures research-backed, complete and ‘transparent’ data.
  • Thanks largely to the action taken by WWF, Russian citizens now better understand the climate change problem. Despite a substantial number of skeptics, surveys reveal that climate-related myths and misperceptions are decreasing in number, while public and scientific opinions are increasingly converging.

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Что уже сделано?

  • Действия WWF и других организаций привели к ратификацией Россией Киотского протокола (2005 год), что позволило ему вступить в силу для всех стран и который до последнего времени был важнейшим механизмом международного климатического сотрудничества.
  • WWF выполнил ряд крупных лесоклиматических проектов на Дальнем Востоке, на площади около 2 млн га, что позволило предотвратить выбросы углекислого газа в атмосферу и создать модель для будущих действий на уровней всей страны. Сохранены от рубок леса долины реки Бикин и все кедрово-широколиственные леса Приморья — места обитания амурского тигра; опробована схема продажи единиц снижения выбросов (средства были получены общиной коренного удэгейского населения «Тигр»).
  • Совместно с ведущими экспертами WWF содействовал принятию Россией экологически грамотной Климатической доктрины (2009 год), плана ее выполнения (2011 год) и цели по сокращению выбросов к 2020 году (2013 год), а также подписанию нового, Парижского, климатического соглашения ООН (2016 год).
  • Совместно с ведущими экспертами WWF содействовал принятию решения о разработке федерального закона и системы «углеродного» регулирования (2016 год) — мерам, стимулирующим внедрение новых технологий, а значит, снижение выбросов.
  • Минприроды России разработало и приняло методику учета поглощения парниковых газов лесами и другими наземными экосистемами (2017 год). Для WWF было важно, чтобы использование методики позволяло получать научно обоснованную, полную и «прозрачную» информацию.
  • Во многом благодаря действиям WWF граждане России стали лучше понимать проблему изменения климата. Несмотря на немалое количество скептиков, опросы показывают, что мифов и заблуждений на тему климата становится меньше, и взгляды обычных людей все более приближаются к взглядам ученых.