We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

Forest and climate

The fact that forests affect, and are affected by, climate change is beyond question: this topic is covered in detail in Roshydromet’s Second assessment report of climate change and the implications for the Russian Federation, as well as in the Fifth Assessment Report of the International Panel on Climate Change, vol. 2. Climate Change 2014, Impacts, Adaptation and Vulnerability. However, this interaction is not that simple, and a good deal of speculation tends to grow around, which needs to be separated from the scientific vision. Particularly important is to do so in the context of large-scale decisions, for example, those related to the development of rules for the implementation of the Paris Agreement and corresponding national measures.

There are a few issues that are well-described in scientific papers and reports, yet still arouse questions on the part of the broad audience, who may have some misperceptions regarding the impact provided by forests on the climate change. Do the processes observed in forests always lead to the withdrawal (absorption or sink) of СО2 from the atmosphere? How important are Russian forests for the global СО2 balance and for the anthropogenic impact thereon? Are they an important source of oxygen for the whole planet? What does it mean — ‘maximum possible account of the absorbing capacity of forests’, as stipulated by Russia as a requirement for its compliance with the new climate agreement? Can the planet be ‘saved’ through afforestation? What needs to be done?

Russian, or even global, forests are unlikely to be a ‘panacea’ for anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions, while the problem of shortage or reduction of oxygen sources is not existent in principle. In terms of global СО2 balance, Russia’s primary goal is not to increase carbon dioxide sinks (which is unrealistic), but to the largest possible degree to maintain the current level of absorption (nearly 600 million tСО2 per year), which amounts to just 1.2% of global anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions, yet offsets more than 20% of current emissions from all economic sectors in the country.

‘Maximum possible account of the absorbing capacity of forests’ in the new climate agreement is obviously very important, but should not be determined by money-focused considerations: high value forests should be preserved as a unique nature object. Therefore, combating climate change is, in fact, identical to the conservation of high value forests and sustainable forest management.

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Лес и климат

Факт влияния лесов на климат и то, что они сами находятся под воздействием изменений климата, не вызывает сомнений: этой теме уделяется детальное внимание во Втором оценочном докладе Росгидромета об изменениях климата и их последствиях на территории Российской Федерации и в Пятом оценочном докладе Межправительственной группы экспертов по изменению климата (Fifth Assessment Report, vol. 2. Climate Change 2014, Impacts, Adaptation and Vulnerability). Однако картина взаимодействия не столь проста и иногда обрастает слухами и суждениями, которые должны быть четко отделены от научного взгляда на проблему. Особенно важно сделать это в контексте крупномасштабных решений, в частности разработки правил реализации Парижского соглашения ООН и соответствующих национальных мер.

Есть ряд вопросов, которые на уровне научных статей и докладов проработаны уже достаточно хорошо, однако у представителей широкой аудитории встречаются ложные представления о влиянии лесов на климат. Всегда ли идущие в лесу процессы приводят к изъятию (абсорбции, или стоку) СО2 из атмосферы? Насколько леса России важны с точки зрения глобального баланса СО2 и влияния на него человека? Являются ли они существенным источником кислорода для всей планеты? Что означает «максимально возможный учет поглощающей способности лесов», который Россия поставила условием выполнения своих обязательств в рамках нового климатического договора? Можно ли «спасти» планету с помощью посадки лесов? Что нужно делать?

Леса России и даже всего мира не могут быть «спасением» от антропогенных выбросов парниковых газов, а глобальной проблемы нехватки или сокращения источников кислорода не существует в принципе. С точки зрения глобального баланса СО2 России важно не нарастить сток углекислого газа (это нереально), а по максимуму сохранить нынешний уровень поглощения примерно 600 млн т СО2 в год, которые составляют лишь 1,2% глобальных антропогенных выбросов парниковых газов, но компенсируют более 20% от нынешних выбросов в секторах экономики страны.

«Максимально возможный учет поглощающей способности лесов», в новом соглашении ООН, безусловно, необходим, но за этим не должны стоять меркантильные соображения: наиболее ценные леса нужно сохранить как уникальный природный объект. Таким образом, задача борьбы с изменением климата фактически идентична цели сохранения наиболее ценных лесов и экологически грамотного ведения лесного хозяйства.