We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

Development of a system of specially protected natural areas

Specially protected natural areas (PAs) are land territories, water surface and airspace above them, where natural complexes and objects that have special conservation, scientific, cultural, aesthetic, recreational and health value are located.

By 2016, the area of PAs in Russia was about 11.4% of the total area of the country. The system of specially protected natural territories in Russia is represented by 247 federal territories (103 reserves, 48 national parks, 64 federal sanctuaries, 17 federal natural monuments) and about 13,000 regional protected areas of various categories.

Far East Marine Reserve © Andrey Gudkov
Kronotsky Reserve © I. Shpilenok
National Park "Russian Arctic" © Julia Kalinicheva
Sailyugem Reserve © Igor Heitman
Oksky Reserve © Igor Shpilenok

The World Wide Fund for Nature is working to expand PAs to preserve unique ecosystems and habitats for rare and endangered species. In specially protected natural areas, natural complexes are preserved as a whole, with all the complexity and diversity of their ecological structure.

The work of WWF Russia in the PAs sphere includes five directions:

  • development of the theoretical bases of reserve management;
  • spatial planning of (regional) PAs systems;
  • creation of new PAs;
  • support existing PAs.

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Развитие системы особо охраняемых природных территорий

Особо охраняемые природные территории (ООПТ) – это участки земли, водной поверхности и воздушного пространства над ними, где располагаются природные комплексы и объекты, имеющие особое природоохранное, научное, культурное, эстетическое, рекреационное и оздоровительное значение.

Площадь ООПТ в России на 2016 год составила около 11,4% от общей площади страны. Система особо охраняемых природных территорий в России представлена 247 федеральными территориями (103 заповедника, 48 национальных парков, 64 федеральных заказника, 17 федеральных памятников природы) и около 13 000 ООПТ регионального значения различных категорий.

Дальневосточный морской заповедник © Андрей Гудков
Кроноцкий заповедник © И. Шпиленок
Национальный парк "Русская Арктика" © Юлия Калиничева
Сайлюгемский заповедник © Игорь Хайтман
Окский заповедник © Игорь Шпиленок

Всемирный фонд дикой природы проводит работу по расширению ООПТ с целью сохранения уникальных экосистем и мест обитания редких и исчезающих видов. На особо охраняемых природных территориях природные комплексы сохраняются в целом, со всей сложностью и многообразием их экологической структуры.

Работа WWF России в области ООПТ включает пять направлений:

  • разработку теоретических основ заповедного дела;
  • пространственное планирование (региональных) систем ООПТ;
  • создание новых ООПТ;
  • поддержку существующих ООПТ.