We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

Central Asian Leopard

The role of the Central Asian leopard in the mountain systems of the Caucasus

How did the leopard disappear from the Russian Caucasus?

There was a time when leopards were widespread in the Caucasus and occupied almost all mountainous areas.

In the late XIX — early XX century, the conflict between humans and leopards became more acute, and the «mighty leopard» was outlawed. It was allowed to kill this animal at any time of the year and by any means, including loops and poisoned baits. The ungulates that the leopard feeds on have also been destroyed.

After the Revolution, the last refuge of the leopard, the securely protected mountain area «Great Kuban Hunting Land», has been destroyed. In 1924, the Caucasus Nature Reserve has been established on these lands, but mass poaching continued throughout the 1920s and 1930s, not to mention the time of the war.

By the 1950s only isolated leopard individuals have survived in the Caucasus. Today, only occasionally leopards come across the Transcaucasian republics from Northern Iran to the Russian Caucasus.

© Daniel Manganelli
© Daniel Manganelli
© Daniel Manganelli

How to return the leopard to the Caucasus?

Reintroduction is the only way to bring back leopards to the Russian Caucasus.

When speaking of reintroduction, biologists refer to the re-creation of a completely extinct population in a given territory. Leopard reintroduction is an extensive and difficult work. It is necessary to prepare the territory for the release of leopards into nature: to increase the number of ungulates, and to strengthen protection from poachers. It is necessary to receive offsprings from the selected pairs of Central Asian leopards in captivity, and most importantly, to prepare these kittens for an independent life in a natural environment. Only those young leopards which can successfully hunt and avoid humans can be released into the nature.

What has already been done for the return of leopards to the Caucasus?

Together with scientists from the A. N. Severtsov Institute of Ecology and Evolution of the Russian Academy of Science (IPEE RAS), WWF Russia experts have developed the Leopard Restoration Program in the Caucasus in 2005. In 2007, the program has been approved by the Ministry of Natural Resources and Ecology of Russia.

It was necessary to find means for the implementation of this project. Fortunately two Russian companies — the ski resort «Rosa Khutor» and «Vimpelcom» («Beeline» trademark) have decided to help WWF and began financing the construction of the Caucasus Leopard Recovery Center in Sochi National Park.

In 2008, after the inclusion of the Program for the restoration of the Central Asian leopard in the program of measures for the environmental support of the XXII Olympic Games in Sochi in 2014, the Ministry of Natural Resources of Russia has joined the financing of construction works.

In September 2009, two male leopards from Turkmenistan were brought to the Caucasus Leopard Recovery Center. In April 2010, two females from Iran have been brought, and in October 2012, a pair of leopards from the Lisbon Zoo.

In July 2013, first kittens appeared at the Center: a male and a female were born from the Lisbon couple; and in August two more leopards were born from the Turkmen male and the Iranian female.

Overall 14 kittens were born in the Center from 2013 to 2017.

The first release of leopards into nature took place in July 2016: three year old leopards Akhun and Victoria and two-year-old Killy have been released on the territory of the Caucasus Nature Reserve.

Permanent monitoring of released leopards has been organized. Its data confirms that leopards feel good: they hunt successfully, avoid humans and reclaim territory.

The program is being implemented by the Ministry of Natural Resources and Ecology of the Russian Federation with the participation of the Sochi National Park, the Caucasus Nature Reserve, IPEE RAS, the Moscow Zoo, ANO «Center for Caucasus Nature» and WWF Russia, as well as with the support of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and the European Association of Zoos and aquariums (EAZA).

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Переднеазиатский леопард

Как леопард исчез с российского Кавказа?

Когда-то леопард был широко распространен на Кавказе и занимал практически все горные территории.

В конце XIX — начале XX века конфликт между человеком и леопардом становился все острее, и «могучий барс» оказался вне закона. Его разрешено было убивать в любое время года и любыми средствами, включая петли и отравленные приманки. Уничтожались и копытные, которыми леопард кормится.

После Революции было разрушено последнее убежище леопарда — надежно охраняемая горнолесная территория «Великокняжеская кубанская охота». В 1924 году на этих землях был учрежден существующий Кавказский заповедник, но массовое браконьерство продолжалось все 1920-е и 1930-е годы, не говоря уж о времени войны.

К 1950-м годам на Кавказе сохранились лишь единичные особи леопарда. Сегодня на российский Кавказ леопарды лишь изредка заходят через закавказские республики из Северного Ирана.

© Daniel Manganelli
© Daniel Manganelli
© Daniel Manganelli

Как вернуть леопарда на Кавказ?

Единственный способ вернуть леопарда на российский Кавказ — реинтродукция.

Реинтродукцией биологи называют воссоздание полностью исчезнувшей на данной территории популяции. Реинтродукция леопарда — многолетняя и сложная работа. Необходимо подготовить территорию для выпуска леопардов в природу: увеличить численность копытных, усилить охрану от браконьеров. От выбранных пар переднеазиатских леопардов в условиях неволи требуется получить потомство, а главное, — подготовить полученных котят к самостоятельной жизни в естественной среде. В природу могут быть выпущены только те молодые леопарды, которые успешно охотятся и избегают человека.

Что уже сделано для возвращения леопарда на Кавказ?

В 2005 году Программа восстановления леопарда на Кавказе была разработана экспертами WWF России совместно с учеными Института проблем экологии и эволюции им. А. Н. Северцова (ИПЭЭ РАН). В 2007 году программа была утверждена Министерством природных ресурсов и экологии (Минприроды России).

Необходимо было найти средства на воплощение проекта в жизнь. К счастью, две российские компании — горнолыжный курорт «Роза Хутор» и компания «Вымпелком» (торговая марка «Билайн») — решили помочь WWF и начали финансировать строительство Центра восстановления леопарда на Кавказе в Сочинском национальном парке.

В 2008 году после включения Программы восстановления переднеазиатского леопарда в программу мероприятий по экологическому сопровождению XXII Олимпийских игр в г. Сочи в 2014 г. к финансированию строительных работ подключилось Минприроды России.

В сентябре 2009 года в Центр восстановления леопарда на Кавказе были привезены два леопарда-самца из Туркменистана. В апреле 2010 г. — две самки из Ирана, в октябре 2012 года — пара леопардов из Лиссабонского зоопарка.

Первые котята появились в Центре в июле 2013 года — самец и самка родились от лиссабонской пары, а в августе еще два леопарденка появились у туркменского самца и иранской самки.

Всего в Центре с 2013 по 2017 год родилось 14 котят.

Первый выпуск леопардов в природу состоялся в июле 2016 года — трехлетние леопарды Ахун и Виктория и двухлетний Килли были выпущены на территории Кавказского заповедника.

Организован постоянный мониторинг выпущенных леопардов. Его данные подтверждают, что леопарды чувствуют себя хорошо — они успешно охотятся, избегают человека и осваивают территорию.

Программа реализуется Министерством природных ресурсов и экологии Российской Федерации при участии Сочинского национального парка, Кавказского заповедника, ИПЭЭ РАН, Московского зоопарка, АНО «Центр природы Кавказа» и WWF России, а также при содействии Международного союза охраны природы (МСОП) и Европейской ассоциации зоопарков и аквариумов (ЕАЗА).