We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

WWF and Citi

The successful cooperation of the Citi Foundation and the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) has already continued for about five years. A distinctive feature of the projects implemented within the framework of this cooperation is their active social orientation: people living in harmony with nature begin to receive a stable profit from their activities based on an environmentally oriented approach. Their welfare and legal income directly depend on the preservation of the environment in its natural, primordial form. It is necessary to understand that it primarily concerns remote areas where there are not many honest means of earning, where poaching and predatory attitude to natural resources have become a harsh norm of life, and sometimes the only source of livelihood.

© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia

In particular, we can note a project of 2012, successfully implemented by WWF and Citi Foundation in Altai and in Tuva. Its goal was to preserve natural habitats of snow leopards and help entrepreneurs to develop their small, environmentally oriented tourism business. About 4.5 million rubles have been allocated to accomplish the set tasks in 2012. Priority was given to the development of ecological tourism in villages: construction and arrangement of «green» houses and tourist camps, and production of souvenirs.

In 2013, the Citi Foundation and WWF Russia have launched a project in Kamchatka to support entrepreneurs involved in the extraction and sale of non-timber forest products. Distribution of funds in the form of micro-grants is based on business plans submitted by entrepreneurs. The basic directions of financing are: purchase of the necessary equipment, rent of industrial premises.

In addition to material support, seminars for entrepreneurs are held every year in the framework of the project in Kamchatka with the participation of officials and experienced businessmen. Such meetings are a source of valuable information. They are especially relevant in remote settlements, where information on the specifics of legislation in the collection and sale of wild plants and pitfalls in the work is much in demand.

Within the framework of the project, an Association of Environmentally Responsible Producers and Processors of Kamchatka Food Forest Resources has been established in 2015.

Thanks to the efforts of the two foundations, in 2016 some 40 new jobs will be created in Kamchatka. Perhaps, the creation of jobs is the main marker of project success. Jobs attracting local residents to work, although seasonal in nature, provide a source of legal income for whole families. The project is implemented in traditionally salmon rich areas, where illegal fishing was the only means of income for the majority of the local population for many years. Therefore, the joint project of two funds aimed at supporting the collection of wild-growing plants also solves the problem of preserving Kamchatka salmon and combating poaching.

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

WWF и Citi

Уже около пяти лет длится успешное сотрудничество фонда Citi и Всемирного фонда дикой природы (WWF). Отличительной чертой проектов, реализуемых в рамках этого сотрудничества, является их активная социальная направленность: люди, живущие в гармонии с природой, начинают получать стабильную прибыль от своей деятельности, основанной на экологически ориентированном подходе. Их благосостояние и легальный доход напрямую зависят от сохранения окружающей среды в ее естественном, первозданном виде. Необходимо понимать, что речь идет, прежде всего, об отдаленных районах, где честных средств заработка не так много, где браконьерство и хищническое отношение к природным ресурсам стало суровой нормой жизни, а порой — единственным источником средств к существованию.

© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России

В частности, можно отметить проект 2012 года, успешно реализованный WWF и фондом Citi на Алтае и в Туве. Его целью было сохранение естественных мест обитания снежного барса и помощь предпринимателям в развитии своего небольшого экологически ориентированного туристического бизнеса. На реализацию поставленных задач в 2012 году было направлено порядка 4,5 млн рублей. Приоритет был отдан развитию на селе экологического туризма: строительству и обустройству «зеленых» домов и турстоянок, производству сувенирной продукции.

В 2013 году фонд Citi и WWF России запустили на Камчатке проект по поддержке предпринимателей, занимающихся сбором и сбытом недревесной продукции леса. Распределение средств в форме микрогрантов идет на основе бизнес-планов, представленных предпринимателями. Основные направления финансирования: покупка необходимого оборудования, аренда производственных помещений.

Помимо материальной поддержки, для предпринимателей ежегодно в рамках проекта на Камчатке проходят семинары с участием чиновников и опытных бизнесменов. Подобные встречи — источник ценных данных. Особенно актуальны они в отдаленных населенных пунктах, где информация об особенностях законодательства в сфере сбора и реализации дикоросов и подводных камнях работы крайне востребована.

В 2015 году в рамках проекта создана Ассоциация экологически ответственных заготовителей и переработчиков пищевых лесных ресурсов Камчатки.

Благодаря усилиям двух фондов в 2016 году на Камчатке будет создано порядка 40 новых рабочих мест. Пожалуй, именно создание рабочих мест является основным маркером успешности проекта. Рабочие места, хотя и носят сезонный характер, привлекая к работе местных жителей, дают источник легального дохода для целых семей. Проект реализуется в традиционно лососевых районах, где незаконная добыча рыбы на протяжении многих лет была единственным средством заработка для большей части местного населения. А следовательно, направленный на поддержку сбора дикоросов совместный проект двух фондов также решает задачи сохранения камчатского лосося и противостояния браконьерскому промыслу.