We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

Reducing the impact of fishing on marine ecosystems

Fishing using bottom trawl has a negative impact on benthic communities, which play a very important role in the ecosystems functioning of the Barents Sea. This fact is confirmed by dozens of scientific works of Russian and foreign authors. According to objective estimates by Russian specialists there was a significant decrease in the biomass and species diversity of the zoobenthos over the period of the trawling fleet existence in the Barents Sea.

The marine ecosystem as a whole is a very complex, multivariable structure, and although there is no known direct connection between benthos and cod and haddock stocks, this does not mean that it does not exist at all. Information on the extent of the impact of the bottom trawl on marine ecosystems in recent years has become available to the world community and has provoked waves of protest against this fishing gear with the demands to restrict it completely.

In 2013, a scientific justification has been formalized in Germany that bottom trawling inflicts severe damage to bottom ecosystems and its products should not be MSC labeled. As a result of a similar analysis carried out by WWF, recommendations to reduce this impact were developed. Russian fishermen decided to pass the environmental certification of the MSC willfully and voluntarily, thereby confirming their responsible attitude for the safety of the Barents Sea aquatic biological resources and their readiness to implement MSC recommendations. Expressing concern for the benthos, fishermen indirectly take care of their future yield of cod and haddock: a healthier marine ecosystem will be able to produce more fish.

Дорогие друзья! Это новая версия сайта WWF. Если вы заметили ошибку, пишите на web@wwf.ru
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Снижение воздействия промысла на морские экосистемы

Промысел с помощью донного трала оказывает негативное воздействие на бентосные сообщества, которые играют очень важную роль в функционировании экосистем Баренцева моря. Этот факт подтверждается десятками научных работ российских и зарубежных авторов. За период существования тралового флота в Баренцевом море, по объективным оценкам российских специалистов, произошло значительное снижение биомассы и видового разнообразия зообентоса.

Морская экосистема в целом — очень сложная, многофакторная структура, и хотя не существует прямой связи между бентосом и запасами трески и пикши, это не значит, что ее нет вообще. Информация о масштабах воздействия донного трала на морские экосистемы в последние годы стала доступна мировой общественности и вызвала волны протеста против этого орудия лова с требованиями ограничить его вплоть до полного запрета.

В 2013 году в Германии было подготовлено научное обоснование того, что донный траловый промысел наносит серьезный ущерб донным экосистемам и его продукция не должна иметь маркировку MSC. WWF выполнил аналогичный анализ, в результате были подготовлены рекомендации по снижению этого воздействия. Российские рыбаки сознательно и добровольно приняли решение пройти экологическую сертификацию MSC, тем самым подтвердив свою ответственность за сохранность водных биоресурсов Баренцева моря и готовность выполнять рекомендации MSC. Выражая заботу о бентосе, рыбаки опосредованно заботятся о своих будущих урожаях трески и пикши: более здоровая морская экосистема сможет произвести больше рыбы.

Позиция WWF России по широкомасштабному дрифтерному промыслу в исключительной экономической зоне России.