We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

More about the Oil and Gas Sector

© Global Warming Images / WWF-Canon

The economic development of our country is still largely dependent on the fuel and energy complex (FEC) working on the basis of hydrocarbon fuels. «The Energy Strategy for the Fuel and Energy Complex Development until 2020» adopted by the Russian government provides for a significant increase in crude oil and other non-renewable natural resources production and export. It implies that new environmental problems and risks will inevitably arise due to accidents, emissions of pollutants into the atmosphere, fragmentation of landscapes, etc.

WWF’s goal is to prevent and reduce the negative impact of the oil and gas sector on the environment by making companies take more environmental responsibility and improving the country`s regulatory framework.

The efforts of WWF have brought to a stop the seismic survey for the Sakhalin-1 project that could kill gray whales of the West Pacific population.

We have made the Sakhalin Energy company lay it`s pipeline (the Sakhalin-2 project) away from the gray whale feeding areas on Sakhalin.

Our work has been rewarded as the state expertise forbade to build the terminal of the oil pipeline «Eastern Siberia — Pacific Ocean» in Perevoznaya bay, and the pipeline route was moved away from the shores of Lake Baikal.

A significant role in this victory was played by our supporters: thousands of people sent postcards to the President of the Russian Federation requesting to move the terminal of the oil pipeline «Eastern Siberia — Pacific Ocean» to another area where its construction would not threaten nature.

After the disastrous spill in the Kerch Strait, when more than 4 thousand tons of fuel oil got into the sea, WWF drew attention to the problem of prevention and liquidation of oil spills. We were the first in the country to organize rescue and cleanup works for birds covered in oil. Together with other environmental organizations WWF actively collaborates with the legislative and executive authorities to improve regulations aiming to prevent oil pollution. In 2007 an appeal to initiate high priority measures addressing oil spill problems was sent to the State Duma and the Government. One of the corresponding laws was «On Protection of Seas of the Russian Federation from Oil Contamination», with the law’s concept developed on the initiative of WWF in 2009. Based on this concept a bill was introduced, that was adopted by the State Duma, signed by the President, and came into force on July 1, 2013.

Дорогие друзья! Это новая версия сайта WWF. Если вы заметили ошибку, пишите на web@wwf.ru
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Подробнее о нефтегазовом секторе

Экономическое развитие нашей страны до сих пор в значительной степени зависит от топливно-энергетического комплекса (ТЭК), работающего на основе углеводородного сырья. Принятая правительством России «Энергетическая стратегия развития ТЭК до 2020 года» предусматривает заметный рост добычи и транспортировки на экспорт сырой нефти и других невозобновляемых природных ресурсов. При этом неизбежно возникновение все новых экологических проблем и рисков вследствие аварий, выбросов в атмосферу загрязняющих веществ, фрагментации ландшафтов и т. п.

Цель WWF — предотвращение и снижение негативного воздействия нефтегазового сектора на природу через повышение экологической ответственности компаний и совершенствование нормативно-правовой базы в стране.

Благодаря усилиям WWF была остановлена сейсморазведка по проекту «Сахалин-1», которая могла погубить серых китов западно-тихоокеанской популяции.

Мы добились переноса трубопровода компании «Сахалин Энерджи» (проект «Сахалин-2») прочь от мест кормления серых китов на Сахалине.

Наша работа была вознаграждена, так как государственная экспертиза запретила строить терминал нефтепровода «Восточная Сибирь — Тихий Океан» в бухте Перевозная, а маршрут трубопровода был перенесен с берегов озера Байкал.

В этой победе важную роль сыграли наши сторонники: тысячи людей отправили открытки Президенту РФ с просьбой перенести терминал нефтепровода «Восточная Сибирь — Тихий Океан» в другой район, где его строительство не угрожало бы природе.

После катастрофы в Керченском проливе, когда в море попало более 4 тыс. т мазута, WWF обратил внимание на проблему нефтяных разливов, их предотвращение и ликвидацию. Мы впервые в стране организовали работы по спасению птиц, испачканных в нефти. WWF вместе с другими экологическими организациями активно взаимодействует с органами законодательной и исполнительной власти по совершенствованию законодательства в части предотвращения нефтяного загрязнения. Так, в 2007 году в Государственную Думу и Правительство было направлено Обращение с призывом принять ряд первоочередных мер для решения проблемы нефтеразливов. Одна из них — разработка закона «О защите морей РФ от нефтяного загрязнения». В 2009 году по инициативе WWF была разработана концепция закона. На основании этой концепции разработан законопроект, который был принят Думой, подписан Президентом и вступил в силу 1 июля 2013 года.

Также читайте на сайте:

Как я могу помочь?