We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

High conservation value forests

High conservation value forests (HCVF) are such forests which have especially high ecological and/or social value. In other words, HCVF are such forests which are more valuable in terms of biodiversity values, ecological values and importance for local people than in terms of industrial timber logging.

HCVF as a concept contains no any principally new ideas. Forests, which were not cut or cut with strong restrictions because of different reasons, existed from the earliest times. Nowadays various types of such forests are known, they are located in all regions of the country. But in the framework of HCVF concept they are united by one general term and sound methodology of identification and preservation.

The term «HCVF» appeared during elaboration of voluntary forest certification systems — particularly the system developed by Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), an international non-governmental organization. Sustainable and environmentally responsible forestry means that maintaining all other forest values is not less important than gaining profit due to timber products sale. That is why special efforts to identify HCVF are required. According to the term adopted by FSC, HCVF includes such forest areas where it is necessary to preserve and to enhance their high conservation value. That is why cuttings in such forests must be limited or forbidden at all — otherwise these forests will lose their value. If logging operations are allowed they must be carried out with special plans. Obligatory HCVF identification and conservation is one of the key principles of forest management certification by FSC.

Working out national HCVF concept and its use in practice have become very acute problems due to the growing interest to the FSC certification in Russia. Besides, possibilities to establish new protected areas in lots of Russian regions are very restricted nowadays, that is why preservation of biological diversity and main environmental forest functions must be carried out by logging companies in industrial forests.

At present HCVF are defined in the FSC Russian National Standard. The experience of interpretation, identification and mapping of HCVF in Russia is rather extensive: www.hcvf.ru

Nowadays it is considered that various HCVF can have value from different scales — international, regional or national. In Russia HCVF can be identified on national and regional levels due to vast territory of the country. For example, at present the majority considers intact forest landscapes (IFL) mapped in the course of Global Forest Watch researches («Atlas of Intact Forest Areas in Russia» Aksenov and others, 2003; Aksenov et al., 2002) as HCVF 2 (intact forest landscapes) of the national level. The same forest area can have several values. For example, if an intact forest landscape (HCVF 2) includes areas with rare ecosystems (HCVF 3).

Дорогие друзья! Это новая версия сайта WWF. Если вы заметили ошибку, пишите на web@wwf.ru
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Леса высокой природоохранной ценности

К лесам высокой природоохранной ценности (ЛВПЦ) относятся леса, экологическая и/или социальная ценность которых особенно велика. Другими словами, ЛВПЦ — это леса, где ценность запасенного в них древесного сырья оказывается второстепенной по сравнению с их значимостью для сохранения биоразнообразия, поддержания экологического равновесия и/или обеспечения потребностей местного населения.

В самом понятии «ЛВПЦ» ничего принципиально нового нет. Леса, которые по тем или иным причинам не рубились или рубились незначительно, существовали с древнейших времен. Сейчас такие леса весьма разнообразны и в том или ином виде существуют практически везде, где ведется лесное хозяйство. Но в рамках концепции ЛВПЦ они объединены одним общим понятием и общей идеологией.

Термин «леса высокой природоохранной ценности» возник в ходе создания систем добровольной лесной сертификации — в частности, схемы, разработанной международной неправительственной организацией Лесной попечительский совет (FSC). Согласно определению FSC, к ЛВПЦ относятся такие лесные территории, природоохранную ценность которых необходимо сохранять или преумножать. Рубки в таких лесах должны быть ограничены или вообще исключены — иначе они потеряют свою ценность. Ограниченные рубки должны вестись по специально разработанному плану. Обязательное выделение и сохранение ЛВПЦ является одним из принципов сертификации лесоуправления по схеме FSC, ведь при устойчивом и экологически ответственном лесопользовании задача получения прибыли от продажи древесной продукции важна так же, как и сохранение всех функций леса.

Растущий интерес к сертификации по системе FSC в России привел к необходимости разработки национальной концепции ЛВПЦ и ее практического применения. Возможности для создания новых охраняемых территорий во многих регионах России сейчас очень ограничены, поэтому поддержание биологического разнообразия и основных средообразующих функций леса должно осуществляться силами самих лесопромышленников.

В настоящее время в Российском национальном рамочном стандарте сертификации по схеме ЛПС и региональных стандартах дается определение ЛВПЦ.,. Накоплен обширный опыт определения, выделения и картирования ЛВПЦ в национальном и региональном масштабах.

ЛВПЦ могут быть международного, регионального или национального значения. В России, в силу обширности ее территории, выделяют ЛВПЦ национального и регионального уровня. Например, малонарушенные лесные территории (МЛТ), закартографированные в ходе исследований Всемирной лесной вахты (Аксенов и др. Атлас малонарушенных территорий России. — М., 2003; Aksenov et al., 2002) большинством экспертов признаются в качестве ЛВПЦ 2 (крупных лесных ландшафтов) национального уровня. В регионах, где нет МЛТ, или в регионах с высоким уровнем биоразнообразия, которое в границах МЛТ представлено недостаточно, могут выделяться ЛВПЦ 2 регионального уровня. Один и тот же участок леса может иметь, например, двойную ценность, если малонарушенная лесная территория (ЛВПЦ 2) включает в себя еще и участки редких экосистем (ЛВПЦ 3).