We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

WWF in the Barents Region: step by step

2015
  • With WWF’s participation, a plan for the Integrated Management of Marine Environmental exploitation for the Barents Sea has been developed for the first time.
  • With WWF’s participation, a law «On Marine Spatial Planning» is being developed, which will allow the introduction of an ecosystem approach in marine management.
  • WWF has been able to establish regular marine mammals monitoring data acquisition.
  • The development of «Strategy for the Conservation of Atlantic Walruses» document has begun.
  • On the initiative of the Nenets Autonomous Okrug Governor, Igor Kosin, with the participation of WWF, a group has been set up in the district to prevent conflicts between humans and polar bears, which includes environmental organizations, local authorities and law enforcement agencies.
  • A landscape protected area of regional importance «Uftyugo-Ileshsky» has been created. Its design has been developed by WWF and coordinated with forest users. As a result of a compromise 78,000 hectares (780 km²) of intact forest has been saved from logging.
  • WWF recommendations for biodiversity conservation during timber harvesting are reflected in the forestry regulations of the Arkhangelsk Region and they have become mandatory for all forest users. Now logging has become less destructive to nature, and the forest environment persists even when clear cuttings are carried out.
2014
  • With the assistance of WWF, four large areas of the Barents and Kara Seas have been internationally recognized as ecologically and biologically significant areas (EBSA) by the Convention on Biological Diversity.
  • A WWF expedition has helped to discover the «disappeared» rare Novaya Zemlya subspecies of reindeer. The last evidence of its existence is from 1996. The Novaya Zemlya subspecies of reindeer are included in the Red Book of Russia (fifth category of protection) and in the Red Book of the Arkhangelsk Region (fourth category of protection).
  • For the first time in 10 years, a case of a murder of a polar bear has been solved in Russia. The dead bear was discovered during the WWF expedition on Vaygach Island. With this highly publicized case it was possible to prevent other cases of poaching on the island.
  • The WWF-designed landscape protected area design, aimed to preserve intact forest landscape in the interfluve of Northern Dvina and Pinega rivers, received positive resolution from the state environmental review.
  • With WWF ‘s participation, the work on the creation of a database of specially protected natural areas (PAs) of the Barents Region within the framework of the international initiative BPAN (Barents Protected Area Network) has been completed. Now everyone can find out the exact boundaries and regime of protection of any of several thousands of PAs in the region.
2013
  • With the assistance of WWF, Yamal SPG has adopted a corporate strategy aimed to preserve Atlantic walruses for the first time in Russia. This is the first and important step on the way to corporate responsibility for Arctic biodiversity conservation of extracting companies.
  • Thanks to the efforts of WWF and active research conducted since 2010, it was possible to estimate for the first time the number of walruses in the Pechora Sea (the most vulnerable walrus grouping), which was practically unknown.
  • With the support of WWF, the «Onega Pomorie» National Park has been established in the Arkhangelsk Region. As a result of this, more than 200 thousand hectares (2000 km²) of forest, coastal and marine ecosystems have been preserved and will be used sustainably.
2012
  • The WWF Arkhangelsk office has joined the Barents Branch of the Foundation.
  • The WWF expedition to the Laptev Sea has helped to determine the status of the Laptev walrus population. The Laptev Sea walruses were found to be part of the Pacific population.
2011
  • With the support of WWF, the Concept for the functioning and development of the Pas’ network until 2038 has been approved. The area of PAs in the Murmansk region will amount to 17% of the region’s territory.
  • Unique project: for the first time in the world, WWF and ITTs ScanEx jointly conducted satellite monitoring of Atlantic walruses’ rookeries in the Barents Sea. Using satellite imagery it was possible to calculate the number of pinnipeds on the Pechora Sea coast. The project has expanded to other countries for different species of animals.
  • With the support of WWF, a regional wildlife sanctuary «Lapland Forest» has been established in the Murmansk region. This is the second largest forest protected area (172 thousand hectares) in the north-west of Russia established over the past 10 years.
  • The first agreement in the region between WWF and the timber industry company has been signed within FSC certification, as a result of which 25 thousand hectares (or 250 km²) of intact forests have been saved from logging.
2010

Sixteen vessels of six fishing companies engaged in cod and haddock fisheries in the Barents Sea have been certified according to the standards of the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC). The certification process took two years and was conducted with the support and direct participation of WWF.

2009
  • A national park «Russian Arctic» has been established on Novaya Zemlya with the participation of WWF. This is the first Arctic national park in Russia that has take under protection walruses, polar bears, bird colonies, glaciers and unique hydrological sites.
  • WWF has conducted first exercises for volunteers to rescue birds. Young people mastered methods of catching, cleaning and rehabilitation of birds exposed to oil pollution in St. Petersburg, and then in Murmansk.
2008
  • A process of implementation of marine fisheries certification according to the standards of the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) has begun in the north-west Russia.
  • The Directorate for Specially Protected Natural Territories was re-established in the Nenets Autonomous Okrug (NAO), which began operating in December 2007.
  • The experience of the Barents Sea Volunteer Office has been used to clean up the coast of the Sea of Azov after an oil spill accident.
  • Developed and implemented in the Murmansk Region Volunteer Training Program for the Elimination of Oil Spills was passed over to be implemented in the Kamchatka / Bering Ecoregion.
  • An electronic database of rare and endangered species of plants and animals listed in the Red Book of the NAO has been developed.
2007

With the support of WWF, a reserve has been established on the Vaygach Island in 2007, which is inhabited by a unique assemblage of rare and red-listed species, including polar bears, Atlantic walruses and Yellow-billed loon.

2006

With the support of WWF, the Northern Coalition (an association of the largest environmental societies in the Barents Sea region) has strengthened its influence. Today it includes: the Barents Branch of WWF Russia, the Kola Wildlife Conservation Center, the Kola Ecological Center, the All-Russian Public Organization «Social Ecological Union» and the Murmansk Regional Youth Public Environmental Organization «Nature and Youth».

2005

The program for the training of volunteers «Clean Coast!» has been launched. More than 500 volunteers trained to clean the shoreline from oil pollution have been trained during its work.

2004

WWF opened an office in Murmansk to coordinate work in the Barents Sea region. The main tasks of the new office are: the support of PAs, and making fishing and oil and gas industry ecologically friendly.

Дорогие друзья! Это новая версия сайта WWF. Если вы заметили ошибку, пишите на web@wwf.ru
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

WWF в Баренц-регионе: шаг за шагом

2015
  • При участии WWF впервые разработан план Комплексного управления морским природопользованием для Баренцева моря.
  • При участии WWF готовится закон «О морском пространственном планировании», который позволит внедрять в практику экосистемный подход в морепользовании.
  • WWF удалось наладить регулярное получение данных по наблюдению за морскими млекопитающими.
  • Начата разработка документа «Стратегия сохранения атлантических моржей».
  • По инициативе губернатора НАО Игоря Кошина при участии WWF в округе создана группа по предотвращению конфликтов между человеком и белым медведем, в которую вошли природоохранные организации, органы местного управления и силовые структуры.
  • Создан ландшафтный заказник регионального значения «Уфтюго-Илешский», проект которого был разработан WWF и согласован с лесопользователями. В результате достигнутого компромисса удалось спасти от рубок 78000 га (780 км²) малонарушенных лесов.
  • Рекомендации WWF по сохранению биоразнообразия при заготовке древесины нашли отражение в лесохозяйственных регламентах Архангельской области и стали обязательными для всех лесопользователей. Теперь заготовка древесины стала менее разрушительна для природы, а лесная среда сохраняется даже при проведении сплошных рубок.
2014
  • При содействии WWF четыре больших акватории Баренцева и Карского морей на международном уровне признаны Конвенцией по биологическому разнообразию важными с экологической и биологической точек зрения районами (ecologically and biologically significant areas — EBSA).
  • Экспедиция WWF помогла обнаружить «исчезнувший» редкий новоземельский подвид северного оленя. Последнее свидетельство его существования датировалось 1996 годом. Новоземельский подвид северного оленя занесен в Красную книгу России (пятая категория охраны) и в Красную книгу Архангельской области (четвертая категория охраны).
  • Впервые за последние 10 лет в России раскрыто дело об убийстве белого медведя. Убитый медведь был обнаружен в ходе экспедиции WWF на острове Вайгач. Громким делом удалось предотвратить другие случаи браконьерства на острове.
  • Разработанный WWF проект ландшафтного заказника, призванного сохранить малонарушенный лесной массив в междуречье Северной Двины и Пинеги, получил положительное заключение государственной экологической экспертизы.
  • При участии WWF завершена работа над созданием базы данных особо охраняемых природных территорий (ООПТ) Баренц-региона в рамках международной инициативы BPAN (Barents Protected Area Network). Теперь каждый желающий может узнать точные границы и режим охраны любой из нескольких тысяч ООПТ региона.
2013
  • При содействии WWF впервые в России компания Ямал-СПГ приняла корпоративную стратегию по сохранению атлантического моржа. Это первый и важный шаг на пути к корпоративной ответственности со стороны добывающих компаний за сохранение биоразнообразия Арктики.
  • Благодаря усилиям WWF и активным исследованиям, проводимым с 2010 года, впервые удалось оценить численность моржей в Печорском море — самой уязвимой группировки моржей, о которой практически не было сведений.
  • При поддержке WWF в Архангельской области создан национальный парк «Онежское Поморье». В результате лесные, прибрежные и морские экосистемы на площади более 200 тыс. га (2000 км²) были сохранены и будут устойчиво использоваться.
2012
  • Архангельский офис WWF вошел в состав Баренц-отделения Фонда.
  • Экспедиция WWF в море Лаптевых помогла определить статус лаптевской популяции моржей — моржи моря Лаптевых оказались моржами тихоокеанской популяции.
2011
  • При поддержке WWF утверждена Концепция функционирования и развития сети ООПТ до 2038 года. Площадь ООПТ Мурманской области составит до 17% территории региона.
  • Уникальный проект: впервые в мире WWF и ИТЦ «Сканэкс» совместно провели спутниковый мониторинг лежбищ атлантических моржей в Баренцевом море. При помощи спутниковых снимков удалось подсчитать количество ластоногих на берегу Печорского моря. Проект получил распространение и в других странах для разных видов животных.
  • В Мурманской области при поддержке WWF создан региональный заказник «Лапландский лес». Это вторая по величине (172 тыс. га) на северо-западе России лесная ООПТ, основанная за последние 10 лет.
  • В рамках FSC сертификации подписано первое в регионе соглашение между WWF и лесопромышленной компанией, в результате чего от рубок было спасено 25 тыс. га (или 250 км²) малонарушенных лесов.
2010

16 судов шести рыбопромысловых компаний, осуществляющих промысел трески и пикши в Баренцевом море, прошли экологическую сертификацию по стандартам Морского попечительского совета (MSC). Процесс сертификации занял два года и проходил при поддержке и непосредственном участии WWF.

2009
  • При участии WWF на Новой Земле создан национальный парк «Русская Арктика». Этот первый в России арктический национальный парк взял под охрану моржей, белых медведей, а также птичьи базары, ледники и уникальные гидрологические объекты.
  • WWF впервые провел учения для добровольцев по спасению птиц. В Санкт-Петербурге, а потом и в Мурманске молодежь осваивала приемы отлова, очистки и реабилитации птиц, подвергшихся нефтяному загрязнению.
2008
  • На северо-западе России начат процесс по внедрению сертификации морского рыболовства по стандартам Морского попечительского совета (MSC).
  • В Ненецком автономном округе (НАО) воссоздана Дирекция особо охраняемых природных территорий, которая начала свою деятельность в декабре 2007 года.
  • Опыт Баренцевоморского офиса по работе с волонтерами был применен при очистке побережья Азовского моря после аварийного разлива нефтепродуктов.
  • Программа по подготовке добровольцев по ликвидации аварийных разливов нефти, разработанная и внедренная в Мурманской области, передана для использования в Камчатский / Берингийский экорегион.
  • Разработана электронная база данных по редким и исчезающим видам растений и животных, занесенным в Красную книгу НАО.
2007

В 2007 году при поддержке WWF был создан заказник на острове Вайгач, где обитает уникальное скопление редких и краснокнижных видов, среди которых белый медведь, атлантический морж и белоклювая гагара.

2006

При поддержке WWF усилила свое влияние Северная коалиция — объединение крупнейших экологических обществ региона Баренцева моря. Сегодня в нее входят: Баренц-отделение WWF России, МООО «Кольский центр охраны дикой природы», МООО «Кольский экологический центр», Общероссийская общественная организация «Социально-экологический союз» и МОМОЭО «Природа и молодежь».

2005

Стартовала программа по подготовке добровольцев «Чистый берег!», за время ее работы обучение прошли более 500 добровольцев, способных очистить береговую линию от нефтяного загрязнения.

2004

WWF открыл отделение в Мурманске, для координации работы в Баренцевоморском регионе. Основные задачи нового офиса — поддержка ООПТ, экологизация рыбной промышленности и нефтегазового бизнеса.