We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

Reindeer

What threatens wild reindeers?

Wild reindeer is one of the most important Arctic species. The role of the reindeer cannot be overemphasized both for the normal functioning of ecosystems and for the life of indigenous peoples of the North. Food, clothing, everyday life, and culture of Nenets, Chukchi, Sami and other nationalities are directly connected with the deer. Without these animals, they simply cannot exist.

Unfortunately, experts come to disappointing conclusions — the number of wild deer is declining in all northern regions of the country. Now there are about 900 thousand wild reindeer in Russia, and a few decades ago there were 1.5 million. However, if the negative trend continues, soon the number of animals can decrease by orders of magnitude.

The main threats to even-toed ungulates are poaching and uncontrolled hunting, as well as the imperfection of the legislative framework controlling various types of reindeer hunting. For example, the world’s largest Taimyr population has shrunk by almost half over the past decade due to overexploitation. Hunting is conducted in violation of existing time frames, volumes and methods of extraction.

The development of oil and gas sector also threatens the existence of reindeer. Pipelines, roads, and power lines that are rapidly built in the tundra, interfere with seasonal migrations of animals and can lead to complete extinction of the species in some regions.

© Victor Mamontov
Reindeer © Ivan Mizin
The Lapland Reserve. Reindeer in autumn © WWF Russia
© WWF Russia

How to preserve wild reindeers?

According to experts, the big problem is the lack of a unified system for monitoring reindeer. It is necessary to conduct large-scale aviation surveys according to a uniform methodology with the involvement of experienced specialists. The obtained data would help to better assess the condition of the species and would allow developing effective measures for its conservation.

In the near future, experts will undertake a more detailed assessment of the existing threats for each individual population in the Russian Arctic (and there are about 20 of them), and following that they will start to develop joint action plan to reduce these threats.

In order to protect deer from illegal killings, together with authorities and law enforcement agencies, WWF conducts anti-poaching raids, during which outrageous facts are often revealed. Unfortunately, such crimes are very difficult to prove. Nevertheless, WWF continues its work and intends to draw the attention of the governments of the northern regions to the disgraceful facts of barbarous attitude towards rare species.

Another task of the WWF is to attract the attention to the problems of preservation of reindeer not only of the authorities, but also of all residents of the Arctic territories. That is why, on the initiative of the Foundation a new holiday — The Reindeer Day — has been created in 2016 in the Arkhangelsk region, which has already united thousands of northerners. It is celebrated on the 17th of February.

Дорогие друзья! Это новая версия сайта WWF. Если вы заметили ошибку, пишите на web@wwf.ru
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

Северный олень

Что угрожает дикому северному оленю?

Дикий северный олень — один из самых значимых арктических видов. Роль северного оленя невозможно переоценить как для нормального функционирования экосистем, так и для жизни коренных малочисленных народов Севера. У ненцев, чукчей, саамов и других народностей весь уклад, еда, одежда, быт, культура напрямую связаны с оленем. Без этих животных они просто не смогут существовать.

К сожалению, эксперты приходят к неутешительным выводам — численность дикого оленя сокращается во всех северных регионах страны. Сейчас в России обитает около 900 тыс. диких северных оленей, а еще несколько десятилетий назад их было 1,5 млн. Однако, если негативная тенденция сохранится, вскоре животных может стать в разы меньше.

Главные угрозы парнокопытным — браконьерство и неконтролируемая охота, а также несовершенство законодательной базы, регулирующей разные виды охоты на северного оленя. Например, крупнейшая в мире таймырская популяция сократилась почти вдвое за последние десять лет именно из-за перепромысла. Охота проводится с нарушением существующих сроков, объемов и способов добычи.

Развитие нефтегазового сектора также угрожает существованию северных оленей. Трубопроводы, дороги, линии электропередач, стремительно строящиеся в тундре, мешают сезонным миграциям животных и могут привести к полному исчезновению вида в некоторых регионах.

© Виктор Мамонтов
Северный олень © Иван Мизин
Лапландский заповедник. Ирвас осенью © WWF России
© WWF России

Как сохранить дикого северного оленя?

По словам экспертов, большой проблемой является отсутствие единой системы мониторинга северного оленя. Необходимо проведение масштабных авиационных учетов по единой методике с привлечением опытных специалистов. Полученные данные помогли бы более полно оценить состояние вида и позволили бы разработать эффективные меры по его сохранению.

В ближайшее время эксперты займутся более детальной оценкой существующих угроз для каждой отдельной популяции в Российской Арктике (а их около 20), а уже после этого приступят к разработке совместного плана действий по снижению этих угроз.

Чтобы защитить оленей от незаконного отстрела, WWF совместно с органами власти и силовыми структурами проводит антибраконьерские рейды, в ходе которых зачастую обнаруживаются вопиющие факты. К сожалению, подобные преступления очень сложно доказуемы. Тем не менее, WWF продолжает работу и намерен привлекать внимание правительств северных регионов к вопиющим фактам варварского отношения к редким видам.

Привлечь внимание не только властей, но и всех жителей арктических территорий к проблемам сохранения северного оленя — еще одна задача WWF. Именно поэтому в 2016 году в Архангельской области по инициативе Фонда появился новый праздник — День северного оленя, который уже объединил тысячи северян. Он отмечается 17 февраля.