We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions

«Green» Economy

It is customary to call «green» a stable and flexible economy that creates more favorable conditions for people’s lives without causing significant damage to the environment. In fact, green economy implies growth in production with a reduction in energy costs, improving the quality of life while reducing the resources used and the burden on ecosystems. There are no contradictions in this approach considering that an infinite increase in the consumed natural resources is impossible, and the division of resources into exhaustible and inexhaustible proves to be very conditional in the detailed study of the issue.

© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia

Ecosystem services assessment

The concept of ecosystem services is closely related to the notion of natural capital, which refers to the totality of living organisms and resources of the biosphere. An assessment of ecosystem services provides a clear picture of the real value of flora and fauna as elements of natural capital as opposed to the market price of individual natural resources. These resources are considered in their totality, taking into account the functions that they perform in nature, and the costs that would have to be incurred for a person to compensate for the negative effects if these resources did not exist. For example forests, in terms of their market they only have value as wood and its derivatives. At the same time in nature, the forest performs a huge number of functions: the trees produce oxygen, protect the soil from erosion, are home to many living things, and this is not a complete list.

The economics of ecosystems and biodiversity (TEEB) is trying to assess the real value of nature. TEEB is a relatively new approach, which has already become a fundamental in almost 30 countries of the world. It is based on:

  • calculating the value of nature;
  • an assessment of the real value of the benefits that nature produces;
  • introducing mechanisms that take this cost into account when making managerial decisions.

Kamchatka will be the first region of Russia where a progressi approach to assessing the value of natural capital will be applied in practice.

Mining industry development

According to the forecasts of the Russian government, the extraction of gold, silver and platinum in Kamchatka can reach 20–25 tons by 2025. According to the Kamchatka Krai administration representatives, the mining industry is a significant sector of the region’s economy and its development is inevitable. At the same time, an increase in production in the mining sector poses serious threats to the well-being of salmon populations in the region.

WWF experts agree that the further development of Kamchatka is closely connected with the natural resources of the peninsula. It should be understood that the extraction of minerals can be beneficial only in the short term and is limited, according to the most optimistic estimates, to several decades. While salmon ecosystems have been, for hundreds of thousands of years, and remain the main source of the existence of many species of living beings, including humans. Therefore mining of minerals should be carried out on the basis of ecologically and socially responsible approaches. It should not only fulfill the requirements of legislation, but also surpass them. The introduction of an active management strategy allows us to assess in advance possible risks and take the necessary measures to reduce them, which leads to a mutual benefit of mining companies and the environment.

Development of Kamchatka's power industry

Given the large energy potential of Kamchatka, the existing energy system of the region is characterized by a high cost of energy resources, serious negative consequences for the environment from the wrong strategic decisions taken and low energy efficiency. All this is further aggravated by isolation from federal networks and markets, and harsh climatic and natural conditions.

The plans of the Kamchatka Krai government to establish the peninsula as one of the leading territories in socio-economic development require the modernization of the energy system to meet potential demand. Among the projects to ensure energy security and sustainable economic development of the region, the regional authorities also consider projects that can have significant negative impact on the environment of Kamchatka. For example, oil and gas development on the Okhotsk and Bering Seas shelves and construction of large hydroelectric power stations.

The purpose of the new WWF project is to analyze options and opportunities for the transition of the Kamchatka energy system to alternative energy sources for the benefit of local population and business, and to search for the most optimal energy development scenario in terms of environmental and economic feasibility. The data collected and resulting scenario will be handed over to the decision-makers at the regional and federal levels, financial institutions and investors.

Oil and Gas Sector

The development of oil and gas deposits on the shelves off the coast of Kamchatka is in limbo. Officially, oil and gas companies state that there are no plans to develop the West Kamchatka and West Bering Sea shelves for the coming years. At the same time, «Gazprom» and «Rosneft» regularly conduct exploratory drilling and seismic exploration in their licensed areas. Despite the fact that it has not yet been possible to find promising hydrocarbon deposits on the shelf, serious negative impact on aquatic biological resources can be expected even at the stage of geological explorations: seismic exploration can lead to the death of juvenile fish, disrupt salmon migration during their movement to the rivers to spawn.

Offshore areas of Kamchatka are of great importance for the Russian fishing industry. A significant part of marine bioresources produced here are comprised by especially valuable species of fish and invertebrates (pollock, salmon, herring, halibut, crabs, etc.).

According to WWF experts, the development of non-renewable natural resources should be postponed until the time when new technologies will allow to develop the deposit without damaging the unique natural wealth of the peninsula, and a system of marine protected areas will be created.

Дорогие друзья! Это новая версия сайта WWF. Если вы заметили ошибку, пишите на web@wwf.ru
Помочь
Наша работа
Регионы
Вы можете помочь прямо сейчас!

«Зеленая» экономика

«Зеленой» принято называть устойчивую и гибкую экономику, которая создает более благоприятные условия для жизни людей, не нанося при этом значительного ущерба окружающей среде. По сути, зеленая экономика подразумевает рост производства при снижении энергозатрат, повышение качества жизни при уменьшении используемых ресурсов и нагрузки на экосистемы. В таком подходе нет противоречия, учитывая, что бесконечное увеличение потребляемых природных ресурсов невозможно, а разделение ресурсов на истощимые и неистощимые при детальном изучении вопроса оказывается весьма условным.

© WWF России
© WWF России

Оценка экосистемных услуг

Понятие экосистемных услуг тесно связано с понятием природного капитала, под которым подразумевается вся совокупность живых организмов и ресурсов биосферы. Оценка экосистемных услуг дает четкое представление о реальной стоимости объектов флоры и фауны как элементов природного капитала в противовес рыночной цене на отдельные природные ресурсы. Эти ресурсы рассматриваются в комплексе, с учетом тех функций, которые они выполняют в природе, и тех затрат, которые пришлось бы понести человеку для компенсации негативного эффекта, если бы этих ресурсов не существовало. Например, леса, с точки зрения их рыночной стоимости, имеют ценность лишь в качестве древесины и ее производных. В то же время в природе лес выполняет огромное количество функций: деревья производят кислород, защищают почву от эрозии, являются домом для многих живых существ, и это далеко не полный список.

Дать оценку реальной стоимости природы пытается экономика экосистем и биоразнообразия (The economics of ecosystems and biodiversity — TEEB). TEEB — это относительно новый подход, который уже успел стать основополагающим почти в 30 странах мира. В его основе:

  • учет ценности природы;
  • оценка реальной стоимости благ, которые природа производит;
  • внедрение механизмов, учитывающих эту стоимость при принятии управленческих решений.

Камчатка станет первым регионом России, где прогрессивный подход к оценке стоимости природного капитала будет применен на практике.

Развитие горнорудной отрасли

По прогнозам российского правительства, добыча золота, серебра и платины на Камчатке к 2025 году может достигнуть 20–25 т. По заявлениям представителей администрации Камчатского края, горнодобывающая отрасль — значимый сектор экономики региона, и его развитие неизбежно. В то же время увеличение объемов производства в горнорудной отрасли создает серьезные угрозы благополучию лососевых популяций в регионе.

Эксперты WWF сходятся во мнении, что дальнейшее развитие Камчатки тесно связано с природными богатствами полуострова. Следует понимать, что добыча полезных ископаемых может быть выгодна лишь в краткосрочной перспективе и ограничена, по самым оптимистичным подсчетам, несколькими десятилетиями, в то время как лососевые экосистемы были и остаются основным источником существования многих видов живых существ, в том числе и человека, на протяжении сотен тысяч лет. Поэтому добыча полезных ископаемых должна осуществляться на основе экологически и социально ответственных подходов — не только соотносится с требованиями законодательства, но и опережать их. Внедрение активной стратегии управления позволяет заранее оценивать возможные риски и предпринимать необходимые меры для их уменьшения, что ведет к обоюдной выгоде горнодобывающих компаний и окружающей среды.

Развитие энергетики Камчатки

При большом энергетическом потенциале Камчатки существующая энергосистема региона характеризуется высокой стоимостью энергоресурсов, серьезными негативными последствиями для окружающей среды от принятых неверных стратегических решений, а также низким уровнем энергоэффективности. Все это дополнительно усугубляется оторванностью от федеральных сетей и рынков и суровыми климатическими и природными условиями.

Планы правительства Камчатского края по становлению полуострова как одной из территорий опережающего социально-экономического развития требуют модернизации энергетической системы для удовлетворения потенциального спроса. Среди проектов по обеспечению энергобезопасности и устойчивого экономического развития региона краевые власти рассматривают и такие, которые могут оказать существенное негативное воздействие на окружающую среду Камчатки, например, нефтегазовое освоение шельфов Охотского и Берингова морей и строительство крупных гидроэлектростанций.

Цель нового проекта Всемирного фонда дикой природы — анализ вариантов и возможностей перехода энергетической системы Камчатки на альтернативные источники энергии в интересах местного населения и бизнеса, а также разработка наиболее оптимального сценария развития энергетики с точки зрения экологической и экономической целесообразности. Собранные данные и итоговый сценарий будут переданы лицам, принимающим решения на региональном и федеральном уровнях, финансовым институтам и инвесторам.

Нефтегазовый сектор

Вопрос разработки нефтегазовых месторождений на шельфах возле побережья Камчатки находится в подвешенном состоянии. Официально нефтегазовые компании заявляют об отсутствии планов освоения Западно-Камчатского и Западно-Беринговоморского шельфов на ближайшие годы. В то же время «Газпром» и «Роснефть» регулярно проводят разведочные бурения и сейсморазведку на своих лицензионных участках. Несмотря на то, что обнаружить перспективные месторождения углеводородов на шельфах компаниям пока не удалось, даже на этапе геологоразведочных работ можно ожидать серьезного негативного воздействия на водные биоресурсы: сейсморазведка может привести к гибели молоди рыб, нарушить миграции лососевых во время движения в реки на нерест.

Шельфовые прикамчатские районы имеют огромное значение для рыбной отрасли России. Значительную часть добываемых здесь морских биоресурсов составляют особо ценные виды рыб и беспозвоночных (минтай, лосось, сельдь, палтус, крабы и др.).

По мнению экспертов WWF, разработку невозобновляемых природных ресурсов следует отложить до того времени, когда новые технологии позволят освоить месторождения без нанесения ущерба уникальным природным богатствам полуострова и будет создана система морских охраняемых природных территорий.